SPHL Today Playoff Edition: 04-19-23

Contact: awest@thesphl.com

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 19, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League begins the second round of the 2023 SPHL Presidents Cup Playoffs with the Peoria Rivermen visiting the Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs in game one tonight. You can follow all the action this postseason at www.sphltv.com

Peoria @ Roanoke (7:05 p.m. EST, 6:05 p.m. CST)

Peoria Rivermen (39-14-4 | 1st Seed)

• Alec Hagaman was named to the All-SPHL 2nd team after leading the Rivermen in goals (24), assists (37), and points (61)
• Zach Wilkie and Nick Neville were also All-SPHL 1st team selections on defense with Wilkie leading the league with a +42 rating. Neville was second among all defensemen with 41 points (5g, 36a) and his 36 assists were the most by a blue-liner this season.
• Tyler Barrow was tied for 10th among rookies with 30 points (11g, 19a)
• Eric Levine led the league with five shutouts.
• Won the William B. Coffey Trophy as regular season champions for the fifth time in team history and their first since the 2019 season.
• This is a rematch of last year’s Presidents Cup Championship which saw Peoria come out on top, defeating the Dawgs 3-1 in the best-of-five championship series.
• Defeated Pensacola in round one, two games to zero.
• Peoria was 1-1-0 against Roanoke in the regular season.

Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs (32-19-5 | 4th Seed)

• Billy Vizzo and Mac Jansen led the Dawgs with 19 goals.
• Nick Ford (16g, 38a) led the Dawgs with 54 points.
• Ford’s 38 assists led the Dawgs in the regular season.
• Goalie Austyn Roudebush posted a league-best 24 wins and was third with a 2.52 goals-against average.
• Swept Evansville in round one, two games to zero.
• Roanoke was 1-1-0 against Peoria in the regular season.