Knoxville’s Justin MacDonald named 2022-23 SPHL Most Valuable Player

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 20, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League on Thursday announced that Justin MacDonald of the Knoxville Ice Bears has been selected as the SPHL Most Valuable Player in a vote of league representatives.

MacDonald captured the 2022-2023 Kevin Swider Leading Scorer Award, leading the SPHL with 79 points. In addition, MacDonald led the league in goals (34), assists (45 – tied) and power play goals (13), and was second in power play points (31). The Newmarket, ON native, was also a two-time SPHL Player of the Month award winner in January and February.

MacDonald becomes the fifth Most Valuable Player award winner in Knoxville’s history and the first since Berkley Scott won the award in the 2017-18 season.

Previous SPHL Most Valuable Players
2021-22 – Alec Baer, Peoria Rivermen
2020-21 – Mason Baptista, Macon Mayhem
2019-20 – Austin Plevy, Evansville Thunderbolts
2018-19 – Josh Harris, Birmingham Bulls
2017-18 – Berkley Scott, Knoxville Ice Bears
2016-17 – Sean Bonar, Fayetteville FireAntz
2015-16 – Garrett Bartus, Macon Mayhem
2014-15 – Matt Gingera, Columbus Cottonmouths
2013-14 – Shawn McNeil, Louisiana IceGators
2012-13 – Josh McQuade, Fayetteville FireAntz
2011-12 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears
2010-11 – Matt Auffrey, Augusta RiverHawks
2009-10 – Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2008-09 – Travis Kauffeldt, Huntsville Havoc
2007-08 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears
2006-07 – Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2005-06 – Matt Carmichael, Huntsville Havoc
2004-05 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears

The SPHL will wrap up its regular season awards on Monday with the announcement of the Athletic Trainer and Equipment Manager of the year.