Fayetteville’s Austin Alger named SPHL Rookie of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 19, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League on Wednesday announced that Austin Alger of the Fayetteville Marksmen has been selected as the SPHL Rookie of the Year in a vote of league representatives.

Alger led all rookies in points (51) while finishing second in goals (21) and assists (30). The Livonia, MI native also ranked tied for first among rookies in power play goals (eight), while finishing third in power play assists (11).

Alger becomes the fourth Rookie of the Year award winner in Fayetteville’s history but is the first since Jesse Biduke won the award back in 2009-10 when the Marksmen were known as the FireAntz.

Previous SPHL Rookie of the Year Award Winners
2021-22 – Marcel Godbout, Peoria Rivermen
2020-21 – Jake Wahlin, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2019-20 – Austin Plevy, Evansville Thunderbolts
2018-19 – Ben Blasko, Peoria Rivermen
2017-18 – Jacob Barber, Birmingham Bulls
2016-17 – Mike Moran, Mississippi RiverKings
2015-16 – John Lidgett, Huntsville Havoc
2014-15 – Bryce Williamson, Columbus Cottonmouths
2013-14 – Joe Caveney, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2012-13 – Matt Gingera, Columbus Cottonmouths
2011-12 – Kiefer Smiley, Mississippi Surge and Jordan Chong, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2010-11 – Chris Wilson, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2009-10 – Jesse Biduke, Fayetteville FireAntz
2008-09 – Michael Richard, Twin City Cyclones
2007-08 – Taylor Hustead, Twin City Cyclones
2006-07 – Tim Velemirovich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2005-06 – Rob Sich, Florida Seals
2004-05 – Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Most Valuable Player on Thursday.