Roanoke’s Brendan Pepe named SPHL Defenseman of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 22, 2024) – The SPHL on Monday announced that Brendan Pepe of the Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs has been selected as the SPHL Defenseman of the Year in a vote of league coaches, broadcasters, and staff.

Pepe led all defensemen in goals (13 – tied), points (41 – tied) and shorthanded assists (two – tied). The Essex Fells, NJ native also ranked fourth among blueliners in plus/minus (+24) and was one of just 10 players to appear in all 56 games.

This is Roanoke’s first Defenseman of the Year award winner in the franchise’s history.

SPHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners
2022-23 – Zach Wilkie, Peoria Rivermen
2021-22 – Jason Price, Knoxville Ice Bears
2020-21 – Kenton Helgesen, Knoxville Ice Bears
2019-20 – Nick Neville, Peoria Rivermen
2018-19 – Travis Jeke, Fayetteville Marksmen
2017-18 – Dave Pszenyczny, Peoria Rivermen
2016-17 – Louis Belisle, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2015-16 – Brandon Greenside, Peoria Rivermen
2014-15 – Andrew Randazzo, Mississippi RiverKings
2013-14 – Stuart Stefan, Huntsville Havoc
2012-13 – Andrew Smale, Fayetteville FireAntz
2011-12 – Mark Van Vliet, Knoxville Ice Bears
2010-11 – Mark Van Vliet, Knoxville Ice Bears
2009-10 – Steve Weidlich, Mississippi Surge
2008-09 – Kevin Harris, Knoxville Ice Bears
2007-08 – Dan Vandermeer, Richmond Renegades
2006-07 – Brian Goudie, Richmond Renegades
2005-06 – Mike Clarke, Fayetteville FireAntz
2004-05 – Curtis Menzul, Knoxville Ice Bears

The SPHL will announce its Goaltender of the Year on Tuesday.