Birmingham’s Hayden Stewart named SPHL Goaltender of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 23, 2024) – The SPHL on Tuesday announced that Hayden Stewart of the Birmingham Bulls has been named the SPHL Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches, broadcasters, and staff.

Stewart led SPHL goaltenders in minutes played (2324:29), while ranking second in wins (26), goals against average (2.14), save percentage (0.925), saves (1,028) and shutouts (four).

A native of Rockford, IL, Stewart established a new Bulls’ franchise mark for goals against average, surpassing the previous record of 2.28 set by Mavric Parks in the 2018-19 season.

Stewart joins Parks as the only two netminders in Birmingham’s history to win the award.

Previous SPHL Goaltender of the Year Winners
2022-23 – Trevor Gorsuch, Evansville Thunderbolts
2021-22 – Hunter Vorva, Huntsville Havoc
2020-21 – Jake Theut, Macon Mayhem
2019-20 – Eric Levine, Peoria Rivermen
2018-19 – Mavric Parks, Birmingham Bulls
2017-18 – Brad Barone, Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs
2016-17 – Sean Bonar, Fayetteville FireAntz
2015-16 – Garrett Bartus, Macon Mayhem
2014-15 – Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen
2013-14 – Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen
2012-13 – Riley Gill, Louisiana IceGators
2011-12 – Ian Vigier, Columbus Cottonmouths
2010-11 – Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc
2009-10 – Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge
2008-09 – Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears
2007-08 – Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas
2006-07 – Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths
2005-06 – Terry Denike, Florida Seals
2004-05 – Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Rookie of the Year on Wednesday.