Fayetteville’s Kyle Sherrill named SPHL Athletic Trainer of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 24, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League on Monday announced that Kyle Sherrill of the Fayetteville Marksmen is the recipient of the 2022-2023 SPHL Athletic Trainer of the Year Award.

The winner was selected by a vote of the league’s equipment managers and athletic trainers.

Sherrill, A native of Red Springs, N.C., was a medical staff member for the Fayetteville FireAntz SPHL championship season (2006-07), and the FireAntz Regular Season Championship (2012). He was also a member of the medical staff for the Fayetteville Guard, the NIFL Championship season (2007) and the Cape Fear Heroes AIF Championship Season (2012), SIF Championship Season (2017).

Kyle earned his B.S. in athletic training from Methodist University. He also minored in physical education as well as strength and conditioning. He has been a BOC-certified athletic trainer since 2008.

Previous Athletic Trainer of the Year Winners
2021-22 Cynthia West, Macon Mayhem
2020-21 award not presented.
2019-20 Max Finley, Peoria Rivermen
2018-19 Lisa Connelly, Macon Mayhem
2017-18 Jen Lorenzo, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2016-17 Adam Norman, Columbus Cottonmouths
2015-16 Rick Hanlon, Mississippi RiverKings
2014-15 Michelle Novak, Peoria Rivermen