Pensacola’s Jim Chesnut named SPHL Equipment Manager of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 24, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League on Monday announced that Jim Chesnut of the Pensacola Ice Flyers is the recipient of the 2022-2023 SPHL Equipment Manager of the Year Award.

The winner was selected by a vote of the league’s equipment managers and athletic trainers.

Chesnut began his professional career as an equipment manager for the Topeka Scarecrows in the Central Hockey League. His career has taken him across 12 different teams in 5 different professional leagues and joined the Ice Flyers staff ahead of the 2020-21 season, he then spent some time in the ECHL with Jacksonville before returning to Pensacola during the 2021-22 season.

Chesnut worked his 1,000th professional game during the 2015-16 season, the same season he won his first SPHL Equipment Manager of the Year award. Earlier this year, Chesnut was honored by the Ice Flyers for working his 1,400th professional game. At the end of this season, Chesnut will have officially worked 1,429 professional hockey games as an equipment manager.

Previous Equipment Manager of the Year Winners
2021-22 Josh Eaves, Quad City Storm
2020-21 award not presented.
2019-20 Brian McQueen, Knoxville Ice Bears
2018-19 Ray Pack, Birmingham Bulls
2017-18 Mark Riepe, Peoria Rivermen
2016-17 Matt Schwegmann, Peoria Rivermen
2015-16 Jim Chesnut, Mississippi RiverKings
2014-15 Andrew Cohen, Peoria Rivermen
2013-14 Michael Slayton, Columbus Cottonmouths
2012-13 Mark Williamson, Knoxville Ice Bears
2011-12 Patrick Stevens, Mississippi RiverKings
2010-11 Jeff Adams, Columbus Cottonmouths