Welcome to TheSPHL.com - Official Website of the Southern Professional Hockey League

SPHL Today: 12-30-22

Contact: awest@thesphl.com

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (December 30, 2022) – The Southern Professional Hockey League continues its 19th season with five games tonight as we skate toward the new year. You can follow all the action this season at www.sphltv.com

Quad City @ Roanoke (7:05 p.m. EST, 6:05 p.m. CST)

Quad City Storm (10-10-1)

• Michael Moran is tied for third in the league with 12 goals, which also leads the team
• Tommy Tsicos leads the Storm with 10 assists
• Moran also ranks tied for third overall with five power-play goals
• Kevin Resop leads the league in both goals against average with a 1.92 gaa, and save percentage (0.945%)
• Quad City is 0-1-0 against Roanoke

Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs (15-5-1)

• Mac Jansen leads the Dawgs with 23 points (6g, 17a)
• Nick Ford leads the Dawgs with 18 assists while also ranking tied for second on the team with 22 points (4g, 18a)
• Billy Vizzo leads the Dawgs with 13 goals
• Vizzo was named SPHL Player of the Week for December 19-25
• Goalie Austyn Roudebush boasts a league-best 12 wins while ranking second with a 2.19 goals-against average
• SPHL leaders with 32 points
• Roanoke is 1-0-0 against Quad City

Fayetteville @ Macon (7:30 p.m. EST, 6:30 p.m. CST)

Fayetteville Marksmen (10-10-2)

• Carlos Fornaris leads the Marksmen in both points (20) and assists (14)
• Austin Alger is ranked tied for second in the league among rookies with eight power play points
• Taylor McCloy is tied for second in the SPHL with three game-winning goals
• Brian Bowen ranks tied for first in the league with 108 shots on goal
• Fayetteville is 2-2-0 against Macon

Macon Mayhem (3-14-2)

• Tommy Munichiello (6g, 9a) leads the Mayhem with 15 points.
• Rourke Russell’s 11 assists are a team-high
• CJ Hayes leads the Mayhem with seven goals, two of those coming on the power play and one being a game-winner
• Defenseman Rourke Russell is third amongst defensemen with seven power-play assists while also ranking tied for third amongst blueliners with eight power-play points (1g, 8a)
• The Mayhem are 2-2-0 against Fayetteville

Vermilion County @ Huntsville (8:00 p.m. EST, 7:00 p.m CST)

Vermilion County Bobcats (3-16-1)

• Austin Albrecht leads the Bobcats in both assists (14) and points (17) while also posting a +3 rating
• Davis Kirkendall leads the team with five goals, two of them being on the power play and one being a shorthanded tally
• Vermilion County has not yet played Huntsville

Huntsville Havoc (12-8-1)

• Goalie Nick Latinovich ranks second in the SPHL with 10 wins while his 2.74 gaa is the fourth-best amongst netminders
• Huntsville has the top two shooting percentage players with Kyle Clarke (37.5%) and Austin Martinsen (33.3%)
• Cole Reginato is third in the league in penalty minutes with 85
• Huntsville has not yet played Vermilion County

Birmingham @ Pensacola (8:05 p.m. EST, 7:05 p.m. CST)

Birmingham Bulls (12-8-1)

• Michael Gillespie leads the SPHL with 34 points (12g, 22a)
• Gillespie’s 22 assists are second in the SPHL while his 12 goals rank tied for third among all players
• Carson Rose is tied for first in the league with 14 goals
• Birmingham is 9-0-0 this season when scoring first
• The Bulls are 1-1-1 against Pensacola

Pensacola Ice Flyers (12-10-0)

• Garrett Milan leads the league with 23 assists and is one of four players with 30+ points (9g, 23a)
• Kolten Olynek (8g, 9a) is tied for fourth in rookie scoring with 17 points
• Ryan Orgel leads all rookies in power-play points (12) and power-play assists (10)
• The Ice Flyers have the top home power play, converting 18 of 48 chances (37.5%), while also having the top-ranked power play overall with 25 goals in 80 chances (31.3%)
• Pensacola is 2-1-0 against Birmingham

Evansville @ Peoria (8:15 p.m. EST, 7:15 p.m. CST)

Evansville Thunderbolts (13-8-2)

• Zane Steeves ranks third in the league with nine wins while posting a 2.79 goals against average, good for fifth-best amongst netminders
• Mike Ferraro leads Evansville with 11 goals and 27 points
• Ferraro’s 16 assists are also a team-best
• The Thunderbolts are 8-1-0 when scoring first
• Evansville is 1-1-1 against Peoria

Peoria Rivermen (14-3-2)

• Alec Baer leads the Rivermen in points (29), goals (13), and assists (16)
• Peoria is sitting second in the league standings while posting an 8-0-2 record over their last 10 games. Their 0.737 win percentage is the best in the league
• Eric Levine is tied for the league lead with two shutouts
• Peoria is 2-0-1 against Evansville