Welcome to TheSPHL.com - Official Website of the Southern Professional Hockey League

SPHL Today: 1-6-23

Contact: awest@thesphl.com

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (January 6, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League continues its 19th season with five games tonight. You can follow all the action this season at www.sphltv.com

Macon @ Roanoke (7:05 p.m. EST, 6:05 p.m. CST)

Macon Mayhem (4-15-2)

• Tommy Munichiello (7g, 9a) leads the Mayhem with 16 points.
• CJ Hayes and Tommy Munichiello lead the Mayhem with seven goals
• Rourke Russell and David Nippard’s 11 assists are tied for a team-high. Russell is third amongst defensemen with seven power-play assists while and eight power-play points (1g, 8a)
• The Mayhem are 0-5-0 against Roanoke

Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs (15-7-1)

• Billy Vizzo leads the Dawgs with 13 goals
• Mac Jansen leads the Dawgs with 23 points (6g, 17a)
• Nick Ford leads the Dawgs with 19 assists while also ranking tied for first on the team with 23 points (4g, 19a)
• Goalie Austyn Roudebush boasts a league-best 12 wins while ranking second with a 2.24 goals-against average
• Tied atop the SPHL with 32 points
• Roanoke is 5-0-0 against Macon

Knoxville @ Huntsville (8:00 p.m. EST, 7:00 p.m. CST)

Knoxville Ice Bears (13-8-3)

• Center Justin MacDonald leads the SPHL with 37 points (13g, 24a)
• MacDonald’s 24 assists are also tied for first in the league
• Brady Fleurent is tied for the SPHL lead with 14 goals and ranks second on the Ice Bears in points with 30
• Ice Bears are the only team with two 30+ point scorers
• When outshooting their opponents, Knoxville is 7-2-1
• Knoxville is 0-2-0 against Huntsville

Huntsville Havoc (14-8-1)

• Goalie Nick Latinovich ranks second in the SPHL with 11 wins while his 2.69 gaa is the fifth-best amongst netminders
• Huntsville has the top two shooting percentage players with Kyle Clarke (37.5%) and Austin Martinsen (33.3%)
• Dominick Procopio is fourth in the league with a +16 rating
• Cole Reginato is third in the league in penalty minutes with 85
• Huntsville is 2-0-0 against Knoxville

Birmingham @ Pensacola (8:05 p.m. EST, 7:05 p.m. CST)

Birmingham Bulls (14-9-1)

• Carson Rose is tied for first in the league with 14 goals
• Gillespie’s 23 assists are second in the SPHL while his 12 goals rank tied for third among all players
• Michael Gillespie is third in the SPHL with 35 points (12g, 23a)
• Birmingham is 9-0-0 this season when scoring first
• The Bulls are 2-1-1 against Pensacola

Pensacola Ice Flyers (12-12-0)

• Garrett Milan is tied for the league lead with 24 assists and is one of five players with 30+ points (12g, 24a)
• Kolten Olynek (8g, 10a) is fifth in rookie scoring with 18 points
• Ryan Orgel leads all rookies in power-play points (12) and power-play assists (10)
• The Ice Flyers have the top home power play, converting 19 of 50 chances (38.0%), while also having the top-ranked power play overall with 26 goals in 85 chances (30.6%)
• Pensacola is 2-2-0 against Birmingham

Fayetteville @ Quad City (8:10 p.m. EST, 7:10 p.m. CST)

Fayetteville Marksmen (12-10-2)

• Brian Bowen leads the Marksmen in both goals (11) and points (23)
• Bowen was named SPHL Player of the Week for the week of Dec 26 – Jan 1
• Austin Alger is tied for second in the league among rookies with eight power play points
• Taylor McCloy is tied for third in the SPHL with three game-winning goals
• Brian Bowen ranks tied for first in the league with 121 shots on goal
• Fayetteville is 1-0-0 against Macon

Quad City Storm (11-10-2)

• Michael Moran is tied for second in the league with 13 goals, which also leads the team
• Tommy Tsicos leads the Storm with 11 assists
• Moran also ranks tied for third overall with five power-play goals
• Kevin Resop leads the league in both goals against average (1.83 gaa), and save percentage (0.944%)
• Quad City is 0-0-1 against Fayetteville

Vermilion County @ Peoria (8:15 p.m. EST, 7:15 p.m. CST)

Vermilion County Bobcats (3-18-1)

• Austin Albrecht leads the Bobcats in both assists (14) and points (18) while also posting a +2 rating
• Davis Kirkendall leads the team with five goals, two of them being on the power play and one being a shorthanded tally
• Vermilion County is 0-3-0 against Peoria

Peoria Rivermen (15-4-2)

• Alec Baer leads the Rivermen in goals (13), assists (17), and points (30)
• Peoria is sitting second in the league standings while posting an 8-1-0 record over their last 10 games. Their 0.714 win percentage is the best in the league.
• Eric Levine is tied for the league lead with two shutouts
• Peoria is 3-0-0 against Vermilion County