Roanoke’s Mitch Stewart named SPHL Broadcaster of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 16, 2024) – The SPHL on Tuesday announced that Mitch Stewart of the Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs is the recipient of the inaugural SPHL Broadcaster of the Year Award.

The winner was selected by a vote of the league’s broadcasters.

Stewart, a native of Botetourt, VA, has been broadcasting Rail Yard Dawgs games since the 2021-22 season, Last year, he had the call for his hometown team as they captured their first President’s Cup championship in franchise history.

Stewart earned his B.A. in Broadcast Journalism from Penn State University in 2020. During his time at Penn State, he called games for different 11 varsity sports, including hockey.

The SPHL will announce its All-Rookie Team on Wednesday.