Fayetteville’s Sherrill, Huntsville’s Miller named SPHL Co-Athletic Trainers of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 15, 2024) – The SPHL on Monday announced that Kyle Sherrill of the Fayetteville Marksmen and Cody Miller of the Huntsville Havoc are the co-recipients of the 2023-2024 SPHL Athletic Trainer of the Year Award.

The winner was selected by a vote of the league’s equipment managers and athletic trainers.

Sherrill, a native of Red Springs, NC, was a medical staff member for the Fayetteville FireAntz SPHL championship season (2006-07) and the FireAntz regular season championship (2012). He was also a member of the medical staff for the Fayetteville Guard NIFL Championship season (2007), the Cape Fear Heroes AIF Championship Season (2012) and SIF championship season (2017).

Sherrill earned his B.S. in athletic training from Methodist University. He also minored in physical education and strength and conditioning and he has been a BOC-certified athletic trainer since 2008.

Now in his first season with the Havoc, Miller, a native of Cullman, AL, has been a certified Athletic Trainer for 10 years and previously worked for the Birmingham Bulls from 2017-2023.

Miller earned his B.S. in Exercise Science and Athletic Training from Troy University in 2015, before obtaining his master’s degree in Kinesiology and Exercise Science from Alabama A&M’s graduate program in 2017.

Previous Athletic Trainer of the Year Winners
2022-23 – Kyle Sherrill, Fayetteville Marksmen
2021-22 – Cynthia West, Macon Mayhem
2020-21 – award not presented.
2019-20 – Max Finley, Peoria Rivermen
2018-19 – Lisa Connelly, Macon Mayhem
2017-18 – Jen Lorenzo, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2016-17 – Adam Norman, Columbus Cottonmouths
2015-16 – Rick Hanlon, Mississippi RiverKings
2014-15 – Michelle Novak, Peoria Rivermen

The SPHL will announce the Broadcaster of the Year award on Tuesday.