Peoria’s Alec Baer earns Kevin Swider Leading Scorer Award

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 11, 2022) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Monday announced Peoria’s Alec Baer is the 2021-2022 recipient of the Kevin Swider Leading Scorer Award. Baer’s 80 points are the most since Swider scored 96 for Knoxville in the 2011-2012 season.

In addition to his 80 points, Baer led the SPHL in assists (54), power play points (33) and power play assists (26).

The St. Louis Park, MN native is the first Rivermen player to lead the SPHL in scoring since Ben Blasko won the award in 2018-2019.

Previous Winners
2020-2021 – Logan Nelson, Birmingham
2019-2020 – Austin Plevy, Evansville
2018-2019 – Ben Blasko, Peoria
2017-2018 – Berkley Scott, Knoxville
2016-2017 – Tayler Thompson, Fayetteville
2015-2016 – Corey Banfield, Pensacola
2014-2015 – Adam Pawlick, Pensacola

The award was renamed in 2015 for the SPHL’s all-time leading scorer. Swider led the league in scoring each of his seven seasons with Knoxville and helped the Ice Bears to three President’s Cup Championships. A three-time league MVP, Swider holds or shares more than 20 SPHL regular season and playoff scoring records.

About the Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL)
Now in its 18th season, the Southern Professional Hockey League is comprised of 11 member teams located throughout the southeastern and midwestern United States. Headquartered in Huntersville, North Carolina, the mission of the SPHL is to provide a quality family-friendly entertainment product structured inside an economic model that is viable for small and mid-size markets and arenas.