Macon’s Mason Baptista named SPHL Most Valuable Player

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (May 26, 2021) – The Southern Professional Hockey League on Wednesday announced that Macon Baptista of the Macon Mayhem has been selected as the 2020-2021 SPHL Most Valuable Player.

The SPHL Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined by a vote of league representatives.

The North York, Ontario native led all players with a +23 rating, four game-winning goals (tied) and three shorthanded assists while finishing second in the SPHL in points (43) and shorthanded points (five). Baptista also ranked third in assists (26) and shorthanded goals (two – tied) while finishing fourth in goals (17) in leading Macon to the William B. Coffey Trophy as regular season champions.

Previous SPHL Most Valuable Players
2019-20 – Austin Plevy, Evansville Thunderbolts
2018-19 – Josh Harris, Birmingham Bulls
2017-18 – Berkley Scott, Knoxville Ice Bears
2016-17 – Sean Bonar, Fayetteville FireAntz
2015-16 – Garrett Bartus, Macon Mayhem
2014-15 – Matt Gingera, Columbus Cottonmouths
2013-14 – Shawn McNeil, Louisiana IceGators
2012-13 – Josh McQuade, Fayetteville FireAntz
2011-12 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears
2010-11 – Matt Auffrey, Augusta RiverHawks
2009-10 – Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2008-09 – Travis Kauffeldt, Huntsville Havoc
2007-08 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears
2006-07 – Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2005-06 – Matt Carmichael, Huntsville Havoc
2004-05 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears