Wanda Amos Community Service Award nominations now open

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (March 6, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) announced today that nominations for the Wanda Amos Community Service Award are now being accepted. The award will again recognize an organization, current team staff member or league alumnus for their charitable contributions within an SPHL community.

Wanda Amos, for whom the award is named, owned the Columbus Cottonmouths for 13 seasons and is a major supporter of numerous charitable organizations, including Girls Inc. of Columbus and Phenix City, the John B. Amos Cancer Center and the Elena Diaz-Verson Amos Center for Breast Health at St. Francis Hospital.

In addition to recognition by the league, a donation will be made to a charity of the recipient’s choice in their honor. Nominations may be submitted by downloading the award form from the league’s website (www.thesphl.com) under The SPHL tab in the main menu. Completed nomination forms must be emailed to the League Office at dprice@thesphl.com no later than Friday, March 31.

Previous Wanda Amos Community Service Award Winners
2021-2022 Dave Feather, Knoxville Ice Bears
2020-2021 award not presented
2019-2020 award not presented
2018-2019 Quad City Storm
2017-2018 Huntsville Havoc

About the Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL)
Now in its 19th season, the Southern Professional Hockey League is comprised of 10 member teams located throughout the southeastern and midwestern United States. Headquartered in Huntersville, North Carolina, the mission of the SPHL is to provide a quality family-friendly entertainment product structured inside an economic model that is viable for small and mid-size markets and arenas.