Wanda Amos Community Service Award nominations now open

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (February 28, 2019) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) announced today that nominations for the Wanda Amos Community Service Award are now being accepted. The award will recognize an organization, current team staff member or league alumnus for their charitable contributions within an SPHL community.

Wanda Amos, for whom the award is named, owned the Columbus Cottonmouths for 13 seasons and is a major supporter of numerous charitable organizations, including Girls Inc. of Columbus and Phenix City, the John B. Amos Cancer Center and the Elena Diaz-Verson Amos Center for Breast Health at St. Francis Hospital.

In addition to recognition at the SPHL Annual Meeting, a donation will be made to a charity of the recipient’s choice in their honor. Last season, the Huntsville Havoc became the first recipients of the award.

Nominations may be submitted by downloading the award form from the league’s website (www.thesphl.com). Completed nomination forms must be emailed to the League Office at sphloffice@gmail.com no later than Friday, March 15, 2019.

Now in its 15th season, the Southern Professional Hockey League is comprised of 11 members located throughout the southeastern and midwestern United States. Headquartered in Huntersville, North Carolina, the mission of the SPHL is to provide a quality entertainment product structured inside an economic model that is viable for small and mid-size markets and arenas. For more information about the SPHL, visit the league’s website at www.thesphl.com.