Welcome to TheSPHL.com - Official Website of the Southern Professional Hockey League

SPHL Today: 01-08-2023

Contact: awest@thesphl.com

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (January 8, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League continues its 19th season tonight as the Fayetteville Marksmen travel to take on the Quad City Storm and the Peoria Rivermen travel to take on the Vermilion County Bobcats. You can follow all the action this season at www.sphltv.com

Fayetteville @ Quad City (3:10 p.m. EST, 2:10 p.m. CST)

Fayetteville Marksmen (14-10-2)

• Brian Bowen leads the Marksmen in goals (14) and points (27)
• Austin Alger is second among rookies with nine power play points
• Taylor McCloy is tied for third in the SPHL with three game-winning goals
• Brian Bowen ranks tied for first in the league with 135 shots on goal
• Fayetteville is 3-0-0 against Quad City

Quad City Storm (11-12-2)

• Michael Moran is tied for third in the league with 13 goals, which also leads the team
• Tommy Tsicos leads the Storm with 11 assists
• Moran also ranks tied for third overall with five power-play goals
• Kevin Resop leads the league in both goals against average (2.19 gaa), and save percentage (0.933%)
• Quad City is 0-2-1 against Fayetteville

Peoria @ Vermilion County (5:00 p.m. EST, 4:00 p.m. CST)

Peoria Rivermen (15-6-2)

• Alec Baer leads the Rivermen in goals (14), assists (18), and points (32)
• Peoria is sitting fourth in the league standings while posting an 6-3-1 record over their last 10 games. Their 0.696 winning percentage is the best in the league.
• Eric Levine is tied for the league lead with two shutouts
• Peoria is 3-1-0 against Vermilion County

Vermilion County Bobcats (4-18-1)

• Austin Albrecht leads the Bobcats in both assists (15) and points (19) while also posting a +3 rating
• Davis Kirkendall is tied for the team lead with five goals, two of them being on the power play and one being a game-winning goal
Vermilion County is 1-3-0 against Peoria