SPHL Announces 2019-2020 Playoff Format, Rule Changes

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (August 13, 2019) – The Southern Professional Hockey League on Tuesday announced the 2019-2020 playoff format and several rule changes that were adopted at the Board of Governors Annual Meeting.
2019-2020 Playoff Format:
The top eight (8) finishers in the league standings will make the playoffs:
Series A – #1 Seed will play #8 Seed in a best-of-three series
Series B – #2 Seed will play #7 Seed in a best-of-three series

Series C – #3 Seed will play #6 Seed in a best-of-three series

Series D – #4 Seed will play #5 Seed in a best-of-three series

In the semi-finals, the remaining teams are re-seeded 1-4 based on regular-season points, with the team seeded #1 playing #4 and #2 playing #3. Both series are best-of-three.
The two remaining teams will meet in the best-of-three President’s Cup Final.
Playoff Rosters
Teams will be permitted to carry a 20th player on their playoff roster. The 20th player may only be an amateur player who had been signed to an ATO with that team within the last 14 days of the season.
Teams will no longer have to play shorthanded when a player is assessed a league suspension.
Now in its 16th season, the Southern Professional Hockey League is comprised of 10 members located throughout the southeastern and midwestern United States. Headquartered in Huntersville, North Carolina, the mission of the SPHL is to provide a quality entertainment product structured inside an economic model that is viable for small and mid-size markets and arenas. For more information about the SPHL, visit the league’s website at www.thesphl.com.