Peoria’s Nick Neville named SPHL Defenseman of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 13, 2020) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Monday announced that Nick Neville of the Peoria Rivermen has been selected as the SPHL Defenseman of the Year in a vote of league coaches, broadcasters and media representatives.
Neville led all defensemen in points (35), assists (29) and power play assists (13) while ranking second among blueliners with a +21 rating. Neville’s 13 assists with the man advantage were also tied for second-most among all SPHL players.
One of just two Rivermen players to skate in every game this season, the Bloomfield Hills, MI native was a runner-up for the award last year, finishing tied for second in the balloting.
SPHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners
2018-19 – Travis Jeke, Fayetteville Marksmen
2017-18 – Dave Pszenyczny, Peoria Rivermen
2016-17 – Louis Belisle, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2015-16 – Brandon Greenside, Peoria Rivermen
2014-15 – Andrew Randazzo, Mississippi RiverKings
2013-14 – Stuart Stefan, Huntsville Havoc
2012-13 – Andrew Smale, Fayetteville FireAntz
2011-12 – Mark Van Vliet, Knoxville Ice Bears
2010-11 – Mark Van Vliet, Knoxville Ice Bears
2009-10 – Steve Weidlich, Mississippi Surge
2008-09 – Kevin Harris, Knoxville Ice Bears
2007-08 – Dan Vandermeer, Richmond Renegades
2006-07 – Brian Goudie, Richmond Renegades
2005-06 – Mike Clarke, Fayetteville FireAntz
2004-05 – Curtis Menzul, Knoxville Ice Bears
The SPHL will announce its Rookie of the Year on Tuesday.