Peoria’s Eric Levine named SPHL Goaltender of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 15, 2020) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Wednesday announced that Eric Levine of the Peoria Rivermen has been selected as the SPHL Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches, broadcasters and media representatives.

Huntsville’s Max Milosek finished second in the voting.

In backstopping the Rivermen to a 33-8-5 record and a share of first place at the season’s premature end, Levine led SPHL goaltenders in wins (22 – tied), goals against average (2.07), save percentage (0.928), shutouts (4 – tied) and shootout wins (3). A native of Wheeling, IL, Levine also ranked second in minutes (1827:08) and third in saves (810).

Previous SPHL Goaltender of the Year Winners

2018-19     Mavric Parks, Birmingham Bulls
2017-18     Brad Barone, Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs
2016-17     Sean Bonar, Fayetteville FireAntz
2015-16     Garrett Bartus, Macon Mayhem
2014-15     Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen
2013-14     Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen
2012-13     Riley Gill, Louisiana IceGators
2011-12     Ian Vigier, Columbus Cottonmouths
2010-11     Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc
2009-10     Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge
2008-09     Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears
2007-08     Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas
2006-07     Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths
2005-06     Terry Denike, Florida Seals
2004-05     Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Coach of the Year on Thursday.