Peoria’s Alec Baer named SPHL Most Valuable Player

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 21, 2022) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Thursday announced that Alec Baer of the Peoria Rivermen has been selected as the 2021-2022 SPHL Most Valuable Player.

The SPHL Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of league representatives.

Baer captured the 2021-2022 Kevin Swider Leading Scorer Award, leading the SPHL with 80 points, most in a season since Swider scored 96 for Knoxville in 2011-2012.

In addition, Baer led the league in assists (54), power play points (33) and power play assists (26). A native of St. Louis Park, MN, Baer twice earned Warrior/SPHL Player of the Week honors and was the March/April Player of the Month, scoring 28 points in his final 14 games.

Previous SPHL Most Valuable Players
2020-21 – Mason Baptista, Macon Mayhem
2019-20 – Austin Plevy, Evansville Thunderbolts
2018-19 – Josh Harris, Birmingham Bulls
2017-18 – Berkley Scott, Knoxville Ice Bears
2016-17 – Sean Bonar, Fayetteville FireAntz
2015-16 – Garrett Bartus, Macon Mayhem
2014-15 – Matt Gingera, Columbus Cottonmouths
2013-14 – Shawn McNeil, Louisiana IceGators
2012-13 – Josh McQuade, Fayetteville FireAntz
2011-12 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears
2010-11 – Matt Auffrey, Augusta RiverHawks
2009-10 – Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2008-09 – Travis Kauffeldt, Huntsville Havoc
2007-08 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears
2006-07 – Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2005-06 – Matt Carmichael, Huntsville Havoc
2004-05 – Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears