Pensacola’s Jake Wahlin named SPHL Rookie of the Year

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (May 20, 2021) – The Southern Professional Hockey League on Thursday announced that Jake Wahlin of the Pensacola Ice Flyers has been selected as the SPHL Rookie of the Year in a vote of league representatives.

Wahlin led all rookies in points (37), goals (19) and shorthanded goals (three), while ranking second in assists (18 – tied), power play goals (three – tied), power play assists (five – tied) and plus-minus rating (+16 – tied). Wahlin was also third among all players with four shorthanded points.

Previous SPHL Rookie of the Year Award Winners
2019-20 – Austin Plevy, Evansville Thunderbolts
2018-19 – Ben Blasko, Peoria Rivermen
2017-18 – Jacob Barber, Birmingham Bulls
2016-17 – Mike Moran, Mississippi RiverKings
2015-16 – John Lidgett, Huntsville Havoc
2014-15 – Bryce Williamson, Columbus Cottonmouths
2013-14 – Joe Caveney, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2012-13 – Matt Gingera, Columbus Cottonmouths
2011-12 – Kiefer Smiley, Mississippi Surge and Jordan Chong, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2010-11 – Chris Wilson, Pensacola Ice Flyers
2009-10 – Jesse Biduke, Fayetteville FireAntz
2008-09 – Michael Richard, Twin City Cyclones
2007-08 – Taylor Hustead, Twin City Cyclones
2006-07 – Tim Velemirovich, Fayetteville FireAntz
2005-06 – Rob Sich, Florida Seals
2004-05 – Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Defenseman of the Year on Friday.