Evansville’s Trevor Gorsuch named SPHL Goaltender of the Year


HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 18, 2023) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Tuesday announced that Trevor Gorsuch of the Evansville Thunderbolts has been selected as the SPHL Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league representatives.

Gorsuch led SPHL goaltenders in goals against average (2.26) and save percentage (0.936). Gorsuch, a native of St. Charles MO, also finished third in shutouts (two – tied) and fifth in wins (15).

This is the first-ever Goaltender of the Year award for Evansville.

Previous SPHL Goaltender of the Year Winners
2021-22 – Hunter Vorva, Huntsville Havoc
2020-21 – Jake Theut, Macon Mayhem
2019-20 – Eric Levine, Peoria Rivermen
2018-19 – Mavric Parks, Birmingham Bulls
2017-18 – Brad Barone, Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs
2016-17 – Sean Bonar, Fayetteville FireAntz
2015-16 – Garrett Bartus, Macon Mayhem
2014-15 – Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen
2013-14 – Kyle Rank, Peoria Rivermen
2012-13 – Riley Gill, Louisiana IceGators
2011-12 – Ian Vigier, Columbus Cottonmouths
2010-11 – Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc
2009-10 – Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge
2008-09 – Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears
2007-08 – Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas
2006-07 – Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths
2005-06 – Terry Denike, Florida Seals
2004-05 – Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Rookie of the Year on Wednesday.