SPHL Southern Professional Hockey League


Fayetteville’s Mark DeSantis Named Easton Coach of the Year

on Apr 03, 2013

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 3, 2013) – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Wednesday announced that Mark DeSantis of the Fayetteville FireAntz has been selected as the Easton Coach of the Year in a vote of league coaches, general managers and media representatives.

Louisiana’s Kevin Kaminski finished second in the voting.

Despite keeping only four players from last season’s roster, DeSantis led the FireAntz to a 30-point improvement as the FireAntz captured the regular season championship with a 35-18-3 record.

DeSantis was named FireAntz head coach on May 17, 2012 after serving as Assistant Coach for the CHL’s Rapid City Rush for the past three years, helping guide the team to consecutive 40-win campaigns.  DeSantis’ playing career spanned 16 years during which he earned a number of awards, including CHL Defenseman of the Year in 2000-01 while with the New Mexico Scorpions.  He was also selected to the CHL All-Star team five times.

SPHL Coach of the Year Award Winners

2012-13 - Mark DeSantis, Fayetteville FireAntz

2011-12 - Jeff Bes, Mississippi Surge

2010-11 - Brad Ralph, Augusta RiverHawks

2009-10 - Steffon Walby, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Scott Hillman, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Rick Allain, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - John Marks, Fayetteville FireAntz

2005-06 - Jerome Bechard, Columbus Cottonmouths

2004-05 - Derek Booth, Fayetteville FireAntz


The SPHL will announce its Most Valuable Player on Thursday.