SPHL Southern Professional Hockey League


Louisiana’s Riley Gill Named Sher-Wood Goaltender of the Year

on Apr 02, 2013

HUNTERSVILLE, NC – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Tuesday announced that Riley Gill of the Louisiana IceGators has been selected as the Sher-Wood Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches, general managers and media representatives.

Andrew Loewen of the Columbus Cottonmouths finished second in the voting.

Gill led the league in wins (25-tied) and shootout wins (four) and set a new SPHL record with five shutouts.  His 2.43 goals against average ranked second, while his .918 save percentage was tied for third-best.  Gill’s strong play helped Louisiana to a 20-point improvement from last season, as the IceGators finished tied with Fayetteville for most points (73).

SPHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2012-13 - Riley Gill, Louisiana IceGators

2011-12 - Ian Vigier, Columbus Cottonmouths

2010-11 - Mark Sibbald, Huntsville Havoc

2009-10 - Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths

2005-06 - Terry Denike, Florida Seals

2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Coach of the Year on Wednesday.